I Am Her

I Am Her


There is an old woman

Her eyes like two used dimes

And they stare out on the ocean

Just waiting for some peace of mind

 

I am the old woman

And the young dancer girl teases me

She’s cold and sweet and so incomplete

Since the day that the sun swallowed me

 

Sing oh so low

Turn my face to the wind

Sail my sailor round the bend

Out of my sight

I am an old woman for tonight

 

He was a sailor

And a good man in his own way

And she was a dancer girl

Who let herself get led astray

 

Oh my lover, sweet lover

Would you come close and hold me near

It’s been so long without you

And time has wasted to fear

 

Sing oh so low

Turned my back on the wind

Sailed my sailor round the bend

Out of my life

I am an old woman for all of time

 

Oh daughters, dear daughters

Would you give me a left lung to breathe?

I’ll find a place to sail far away

Just as my love once did to me

 

You are an old man now

Your eyes like coins worn down

But clear is the dancer girl

and the day that my bones you found

 

Sing oh so low

Bury my face in the wind

Sail my sailor round the bend

Out of my sight

I am an old woman deep inside

I am an old woman for the rest of my life

I am

I am

I am an old woman

And the young dancer girl teases me

 

 

                                                                                               

Leave a Reply

