Tramps… (So What’s It To You?)

Tramps… (So What’s It To You?)


Hey, Tramp

Well there’s the whores and then there’s me

Hey, Tramp

I’ll steal your bread but not your sleep

Hey, Tramp

How do I get to Boston’s bay?

You know I’d like to see the sea cuz it’s been a long day……

 

Penny Leaves the house a quarter after 10

She stops at Mickey’s for coffee

It’s not quite time to meet him

“Hey, Mickey, babe. You always treat me so nice…

What you gonna do with the rest of your life?”

 

Mickey thinks he must of heard wrong

He looks her up and down thinks ‘Oh my lord’

He doesn’t get her or understand

He’s just a simple man who works for his horde

She says, “Hey Mickey babe you always treat me so nice.”

Well he’s about to respond but then they hear those cries….

 

Hey, Tramp

Well there’s the whores and then there’s me

Hey, Tramp

I’d steal your bread but not your sleep

Hey, Tramp

How do you get to Boston’s bay?

You know I’d like to see the sea cuz it’s been a long day

Hey, Tramp

Well who you talking to?

It’s a big old world and there’s a tramp in each of you

 

Mickey sees lots of things

While serving coffee from a cart

Some things he just shakes his head at

Like how the rich sell hoboes as art

Then they say, “Hey, hey, stop that man!!”

“Well whatchya know,” Mickey says, “There goes Joel again.”

 

Joel was a nice guy

Sweet as could be

He slept on the mat of a hotel

He always held the door for that Penny

She always smiled his way when he did

It was her pretty face that made Joel punch, that man was sick

 

Now they yell

Hey, Tramp

Well there’s the whores and then there’s me

Hey, Tramp

I’d steal your bread but not your sleep

Hey, Tramp

Well how do I get to Boston’s bay?

You know I’d like to see the sea cuz it’s been a long day

Hey, Tramp

Well who you talkin’ to?

It’s a big old world and there’s a tramp in each of you

 

Joel made a run for it, He hopped a train

Penny is black and blue from her baby

Mickey watched it all from his cart

He knows the truth of it so don’t you start

 

So what would you do if you heard them scream?

“Hey, Tramp get out of here!”

Are they talking to me?

There are whores and then there’s those that tramp on others

Then there are those that are just misunderstood wanderers

Well it’s true there are those who’d rather steal

No they aren’t ghosts they’re rather real

If I had to choose it wouldn’t matter what I’d be

Cuz I’m so over those that tramp on me

There’s so many thing I could be called

That’s why I ask, “What’s it mean when they call…”

When they say

 

Hey, Tramp

Well there’s the whores and then there’s me

Hey, Tramp

I’d steal your bread but not your sleep

Hey, Tramp

How do I get to Boston’s bay?

You know I’d like to see the sea cuz it’s been a long day

Hey, Tramp

Well just who you talking to?

It’s a big old world….

And there’s a tramp in each of you

 

Leave a Reply

