Better In Time

Better In Time


This is a song…about growing older and being okay with that… having no regrets.

 

Here I am on the water

Drinking up the beer

I can taste the salt on my breathe and the ocean coming near

If I had just one wish

If I could turn back the time

I would wish for you to be here kiss me till the day I die

 

It’s been years to the day

I’m waking up at night

I can’t shake the fear of failure or the dreams I never tried

I’ve walked for miles on this road

And I’m wandering away

I’ve completed more than some but there’s still another day

 

Cuz you know we all get older

but I know your eyes when they start to smolder

In my heart and in my mind

I talk to the edge of time

Cuz you know we all get older…. then we’re all doing fine

 

T’was the night that I met you

Breathing in the dust

Of the smoky bar tables and the islands of mistrust

I’d been singing a song

Of rusty love repaired

And then I caught just a fleck of you and you whispered in my ear

 

You said “you know we all get older

And I know your eyes by the way they still smolder

In my heart and in my mind

I talk to the edge of time

Cuz you know we all get older and then we’ll all be doing fine

Cuz you know we all get kinder in the cradle of our lust

And we can talk to the darkness and we can make believe we trust

Cuz you know we all get older

And I know it’s your eyes by the way they smolder

In my heart and in my mind

I talk to the edge of time

Cuz you know we all get older

And you know we’ll be all right

 

I believe all things come

By our choice it can turn around

That’s when I turn my back and I hear that sound

Of the glasses clinking in the place where we met

One Blue stare over whiskey and I’m running to remember not to forget

 

You know we all get older

You know we all get better with time

We all are getting older

Tonight is the night we get young again

Tonight is the night I find you and then

In my heart and in my mind

I chase the bridge in time

Just to sit by your side and to know we’re doing fine

Cuz you know we all get kinder in the cradle of our lust

And we talk to the darkness and we make believe we trust

And I know we all get older

Your eyes still smolder when they look at me

 and You know we all get older that’s just how life is gonna be

In my heart and in my mind

I make love to you this time

Cuz we know we all get older

Cuz you know we all get older

Yeah you know we all get older

And you know we all get older

And you and I

Are doing fine

 

Leave a Reply

