Hard To Leave A Love

Hard To Leave A Love


This is what happens when I’m bored at work….

 

I know it’s hard to leave a love

When you’ve spent all your time with them

From the cradle growing up

And we always had a friend

But I’m a wandering spirit and it’s time to take the plunge

For this heart has forsaken what her ancestor’s built up

Tis the night before I leave you and we spend it telling tales

Of the times we ran together with the fishes through the gales…

 

And I know, oh yes I know

How it’s hard to leave a love

But that’s why when I leave you I’ll be thanking God above

For the man who stands beside you is a man that stole your heart

He’ll preoccupy your wonderings of where on God’s good earth I walk

And when the lonely nights get long he’ll caress your wears away

And you’ll forget at least for awhile that I was absent there that day

 

And when you’re old and times are wicked

To your bones they’ve not been kind

No absent won’t be your taste for laughter

Or the emerald of your eyes

And when your boy’s child asks about me you’ll smile in revelry

And tell him she was the singing mermaid who spun tales of anarchy

And of loving, lying and dying, she cursed them each and every day

For the man who’d captured her heart, he had long been gone away

 

“Now listen to me my song

You’re great aunt was a drifting soul

She gathered up her pieces

And made life out of them all

You see the night before she left me we spent it telling all our tales

Of the times we ran together with the fishes and the whales

And I thought she was so swell, she’d never leave me on this rock

But she was a wandering spirit and it was time to take the plunge

For her heart it had forsaken what our ancestor’s built up

She’s had a sample of adventure but it would never be enough

And before she ran away

To the farthest Northern plains

Let me tell you my dear son what your great aunt said to me

 

She said, “I know, oh yes I know

How it’s hard to leave a love

But that’s why when I leave you I’ll be thanking God above

For the man who stands beside you is a man who stole your heart

He’ll preoccupy your wonderings of where on God’s good earth I walk

And when the lonely nights get long he’ll caress away your wears

And you’ll forget, at least for awhile, that I’ve been absent all these years'”

 

Oh yes, I know oh how I know

How it’s hard to leave a love

But I swear when I leave you I’ll be thanking God above

For the man who stands by your side is a man who stole your heart

And he’ll preoccupy your wonderings of where on God’s good earth I walk

Oh yes I’m a wandering spirit and It’s time to take the plunge….

But remember, oh my darling, I know it’s hard to leave a love

Leave a Reply

