Indian Love

Indian Love


So this is a song that actually has a bit of a background story… I am a bit of a genealogy freak and I am fascinated by history and cultures and while I don’t believe that your family and history completely defines who we are as people, I do believe that it’s important…and at times eye opening…to know where you came from. It is legend (perhaps a strong word) in my family that my great, great grandfather who hailed from Quebec, Canada, went looking for a wife. He found one in a convent and paid the nuns to take one of the girls there to be his wife. Now, this young woman who would be his wife was also Native American. Of course I’ve tried to find out what tribe and all such other details but at the time they lived it wasn’t exactly a “popular” thing to be known as having Native American Indian blood in you, whether you lived in Canada or in the U.S. which means that surviving records probably won’t tell you what a person’s true ethnic origins were. But never mind that. While I was disappointed to not find out every detail I wanted I was given a photograph from my grandmother that depicted her grandparents. I admit, I was a little astonished. For a man who “bought” his wife from a convent (her birth certificate lists no parents, only godparents of no relation to her), a woman who was (and she definitely looked it in the picture) Native Indian, she was impeccably dressed. There they were in black and white color standing together in the countryside, he in an everyday suit, typical of the times, and she not just in typical dress but in a luxurious looking fur coat. Her hair was done, her shoes were shiny, she wore jewelry on her fingers and around her neck and there was an impeccably quiet, yet mischievous smile on her face as she stood underneath the embrace of her much taller, and much more stern looking husband (because no one smiled in pictures back then). Perhaps, I shouldn’t be so astonished. But according to every other story I’ve heard and thing I’ve read about the social times…for her to be treated so well considering her heritage…wasn’t exactly typical…I hate saying that because I wish it to be wrong but you can’t ignore the facts. I have many Native Indian ancestors who simply aren’t identified as such because during their lifetimes there were threats of abuse and government enforced sterilization practices for anyone who did identify themselves as being tribal. So to see my great great grandmother standing, so happily and so bedecked in finery for her time I just…was taken aback. What solidified the feeling was the delicate weight of the necklace that my great great grandfather had given her in the palm of my hand. It’s such a simple necklace on a delicate silver chain with eight oval cut Amber stones adorning it. In one word it’s beautiful. And thought provoking. It got me thinking. What was their story? Why did he go to a convent for a wife? He was by no means an unattractive man. So one night I wrote this song. How’d he win her? Did he have to? What did she think of him? Of course it’s of my own projection but I just couldn’t help but wonder how my great great grandfather got his Indian Love….

 

Hey “Mister Brass”

It’s been awhile since I’ve been called that

I saw wildness while I walked on by

Indian girl, dark brown eyes

 

Can’t give you diamonds

Can’t give you the wold

Only eight Amber stones and the sweetest tale

A tale about a girl with the spirit of fire

And one single man, whose heart he desired

 

Indian love come lay in the grass

Indian love you’re too good to ask

Eyes of them can’t look past a copper shell

But I will always love you more than I can tell

You know what I am of my Indian love, my-y Indian love

 

Ooooh Mistress of Orphans

What do I have to do to keep you from going?

If I broke down these taunt gray walls

Would you come with me my Indian Love

 

Eight Amber stone

I’d like to put around a neck with a copper tone

Their not worth much, not worth gold

Indian Love says she don’t need more

 

Indian Love come lay in the grass

Indian Love you’re too good to ask

Eyes of them can’t look past a copper shell

And I will always love you more than I can tell

You know what I am of my Indian love, my Indian love

 

There’s been men known to play with fire

Some say hell bound is this desire

Indian girl, hair black as night

Hell can have me at the end of our life

 

Indian love come lay in the grass

Indian love, you’re too good to ask

Eyes of them can’t look past a copper shell

And I will always love you more than I can tell

You know what I am of my Indian love, My Indian love

 

Can’t give you diamonds

Can’t give you the world

Only eight Amber stones and the sweetest tale

A tale about a girl with spirit of fire

And one single man, whose heart he desired

7 thoughts on “Indian Love

  1. Can I merely say what a relief to find someone who really knows just what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue for you to light and make it important. More people must read this along with understand this side of the story. I find it difficult to believe youre not more popular as you definitely have the gift.

    1. Hey Seth…thanks for your comment…really sweet of you to say! The song had good inspiration so perhaps that’s why it’s relatable. There are lots of people on wordpress that are really talented and honestly I just started about a year ago and I’ve only been posting regularly for the last like two months…so perhaps in time the blog will become more popular. Thanks for the love though! Feel free to check back whenever you want. I write every day so there will always be something new. Thanks again for your sweet comments~ Annabel

Leave a Reply

