Rude Awakenings…. and “Lighthouse Leads”

Rude Awakenings…. and “Lighthouse Leads”


I woke up to something I don’t particularly care for but is perfectly normal this time of year for Siberia Minor (for those of you just following this page, that is a little nickname of given the region in which I live) and that is *drumroll please*…….snow.

Now, It’s not “Snow” that makes me angry and brooding. It’s what snow does to my plans that makes me irritable. If I were traveling the world and actually in a place I wished to be at this moment and it happened to storm a wintry blizzard I would not care if it were doing so. In fact, I’d probably like it.

On the way past the lake this morning I was not set to be awed by anything, especially given the weather. Yet, as I looked out onto the rolling black wave and set behind them the crispness of white and the rugged beauty of half covered mountains I realized that you can be awed by the beauty in the things you dislike or even moderately hate. For me…I LOVE the water. Next to songs, languages, music and travel, the ocean is my greatest love. Actually it’s really hard to rate which of those things is better than the other. As far as I’m concerned they’re all my first and forever loves and I just simply don’t have seconds. I’m a big believer in not half-ass-ing things (pardon the word) but perhaps it’s just my nature to only be one of the two extremes. Either in love or not in love. Hate or not hate. Good or not good. Today, the lake, which normally just looks like any other lake during the summertime, seemed to take on a whole new personality. Today it was as if the water rose up and darkened, threatening to swallow anything and anyone who told it not to. It was perfect. 

Which also happened to give me inspiration. It’s funny how the beginnings of lyric start. The thing that starts them can have nothing to do with the thing it becomes but I’m still grateful for the thing that started it even if I wasn’t exactly happy to see that beautiful wind blowing that cursed white, powdery, stuff about. So here it is, another duet! Enjoy! I’m going to go make a fire….

 

The sea rages, fear sieges against my tower walls

 

I’m knocking on the door for you to come down

 

I’m no Snow White, though cold I be in my bones

 

Draw close and let me warm your heart up dear

 

Your wily sense of humor takes me to the brink

 

Don’t fall asleep or in the dream you’ll drown

 

This cold, cold, cold day is turning into heat

 

Listen to my voice I’ll lead you out

 

Cuz though my mind’s a maze of burns, twisted sea of turns

Don’t listen to the cries I make

Cuz though I may bury your heart, I ache for you to shine

A way back to you love

And when I’ve finally seen the light beacon shining bright

Your Lighthouse leads me home

 

Well you just don’t listen to a single word I say

 

The little voices talking I’ll ignore

 

I hate that you don’t ever need to try

 

Why try to find what you’re not looking for?

 

My truly, lazy, heart means the best

 

So I give in to the stories you tell

 

Cuz though my mind’s a maze of burns, a twisted sea of turns

Don’t listen to the cries I make

Cuz though I may bury your heart, I ache for you to shine

The way back to your love

And when I’ve finally seen the light beacon shining bright

Your Lighthouse leads me home

 

Cuz though Calypso rules my heart

Tosses us apart

Your Lighthouse leads me home

And when you’ve finally seen the dawn

You’ll know I’ve carried on

Your Lighthouse lead me home

 

Thanks all!

Annabel

 

 

 

 

  

Leave a Reply

