Rim Of The Bottle

Rim Of The Bottle


Know what I love about songs, writing and art?? Two people can look at the same things, the same words, same song, same idea and think and feel two very different things….It’s really the ultimate vice for expression and really the best vice I know of. I often, as you know, write songs, lyrics, what have you but mostly lyrics. On the rare occasion that I share them with someone I actually, physically, in the flesh, robbed a liquor store (not really), shot the breeze with, KNOW….I am often giggling when I find out what they got out of those lyrics. Often, it is nothing I intended or felt for myself. I love it. There’s room for all expressions and they don’t have to be taken any more serious than you feel them to be. So here is yet another….enjoy…

 

Well I’ve seen the sun and I’ve turned the key

Lost every faith to find belief

The deeper parts of the darkest wilds

Held our secrets all this while

Dive down deep and soar sky high

Crack the Rim of the bottle from the inside

 

Here I come and I go go go

Here I stay but just who notices?

 

I’ve come so far and I’ve done just fine

I like gold but I’m cheap like wine

The wrecking ball swings and down I stay

I’m back to the breaking point of the day

 

Here I come and I go go go

Here I stay but just who notices?

 

The issues here and the games at play

It’s ice water irony in your face

A black heart grown accustomed to

A soulless moment, a lack of truth

 

Here I come and I go go go

Here I stay but just who notices?

 

I lack sense but I’m full of fire

Killed my will to uncover desire

It’s an old man climbing up that hill

A cold star night that makes you sit still

I’ve seen the lightning strike the fence

I’ve let go of all of my defenses

Let me go and let me stand

In the rains and toes on the edge

 

Here I come and I go go go

Here I stay but just who notices?

 

Defense is a word but what it this?

Is it an art of a ruby necklace?

I’ve let it capture and set me free

Let my heart argue with soliloquy

I’m like a drowned sea rat shipped into the bay

The first light of a prickly start to the day

 

I’ve come so far and I’ve done just fine

I like yours but I’ll settle for mine

Yeah, I don’t like gold cuz I’m cheap like wine

And I’ll dive down deep and soar sky high

Crack the Rim of the bottle from the inside

 

Here I come and I go go go

Here I stay, didn’t you know?

Here I come and I go go go

Here I stay

And that’s okay

Don’t need no one

To notice me

Keep my thoughts to my own self

I’ll love this world like no one else

 

One thought on “Rim Of The Bottle

Leave a Reply

