1940

1940


written awhile back…inspired by a movie…also written as a 3-person song…a husband, a wife and the not so welcome 3rd party, lover of said wife. I’d never really written anything like this before so it was interesting to get into that side of the human mind….The premise of the film was set a little after the war. A London housewife abandons her seemingly happy marriage for a younger man who has his own share of scars from the war. The love she was chasing eluded her… 

This could be confusing so to help out knowing who is speaking I’m going to number them. 1 is husband, 2 is wife and 3 is her lover.

 

1: Well my dearest wife

She’s long gone away

In the flesh she’s present but her mind can’t stay

It’s a circle and I can never keep up

What’s wrong with us why are you giving up?

 

2: “Come here Brown eyes,

What are you doing here?”

Just those words and he knows I’m all ears

I’m not a little girl and he’s the pilot within

He gives me nothing at all and then he gives me all of him

 

3: She’s so beautiful

She’s like a violet sky

I can’t see a future without her in my sight

I know this is wrong but I’m farthest from strong

Had too much when I’m young and now I’m the spiral down

 

Oh 1940 where have you gone?

That’s when I loved your temper and your heart so strong

When you’re lost, so am I

And I’ll never get by

All the places you and I used to run to

It’s a clutch and I know

That I’ll never let go

Do you know how it feels, do ya know?

So remember me in your cold misery and how we’re lost in the Deep Blue Sea

 

2: You’ve got some patience

1: That’s my third glass of Gin

2: He’s not at all like you that’s why I love all of him

1: It could be so different and I could change but you’re doubtful now

2: Well nothing else matters so much as it all matters now

I tell you, “here’s the thing, he is everything

That’s why I’m in this hole and I’m slowly sinking”

1: (I tell you “Here’s the thing, you are everything

That’s why I’m in this hole and I’m slowly sinking”)

 

3: She’s not what I thought

No, not at all

Once we were dancing now I come home and fall

What do I do now I’m not the same as you

Just cuz you spew angel doesn’t mean I can too

 

Oh 1940 where have you gone?

That’s when I loved your temper and your heart so strong

When you’re lost, so am I

And I’ll never get by

All the places you and I used to run to

It’s a clutch and I know

That I’ll never let go

Do you know how it feels, do ya know?

So remember me in your cold misery and how we’re lost in the Deep Blue Sea

 

2: So here I am

This is where it ends

I left one for love and I can’t stand to love again

Is this it?

Would it get better if

I make time stand for me and watch the waves pull me in

 

Oh, oh, 1940 where have you gone?

That’s when I loved your temper and your heart so strong

When you’re lost, so am I

And I’ll never get by

All the places you and I used to run to

It’s a crutch, and I know

That I should let go

Do you know how it feels, do you know?

So remember me in your cold misery and how we’re lost in the Deep Blue Sea

 

 

Leave a Reply

