Cut and Dry (Tiger Strength)

Cut and Dry (Tiger Strength)


written for a novel I’m working on that’s set in St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada. About a reasonably well know Celtic, folk rock band of best friends and a stowaway with the voice that changes it all. Written as a duet. The first stanza is meant as an intro, sung at a slower, more reflective pace than the rest of the song and also sung by a woman. The next two stanzas are sung by a man and the next two by a woman and then together the last are sung…. enjoy…

 

You might now be my heaven

Yes, you’re a simple kind of man

It might take forty years for me to finally understand

You can tell me once, tell me twice, repeat it all our days

But I’m that stubborn afterthought that you’ve gotta break…..

 

I’ve got cold and limber limbs

I’ll take your teardrops on my skin

There is nothing you can scream

No howled cried or bitter things

I want nothing else in life but you…but you

 

Cuz I’m a man of fear and stength

Yes, I can love and like the taste

Of salty, bitter, stubborn face or you….of you

 

You might now be my heaven

Yes, you’re a simple kind of man

I hate how you’re so cut and dry

Just like me but with sea glass eyes

And I want all our fights to end with you and I…with you and I

 

Cuz I can’t find much more to break

I can’t love you but oh, can I fake

How your touch it makes me fall for you….for you

 

We are souls who want it all

I’m love shy and

I want more

Use your Tiger Strength on me

Show me how it ought to be

 

Now we don’t have much time to waste

Yes I can love and like the taste

Of less than willing, upturned face of you……of you

Leave a Reply

