Rum Run

Rum Run


Please pardon me the steal of the into and end lyric…this song came to me very, very early in the morning and the lyric from Ms. Holiday just seemed to fit…

 

Nothing you can say can tear me away from my guy

Nothing you can do cuz I’m stuck like glue to my guy

Oh nothing you can say can tear me away from my guy

Nothing you can do cuz I’m stuck like glue to my guy

 

Tearing down the hustler one by one

We gotta whole load a cash and a brand new gun

Holding off the cops but we’re only two

Baby think it’s time we cut ourselves loose

 

And now we’re oh oh cutting down the railroad

Fire burning with the flames I cried

And when we get tooo the south of the border

We’re gonna run rum till we get a little older

We’re gonna run rum till I get a little older with my guy

 

It’s a full house a cards when we had the gang all here

Make a tough pull start as smooth as a beer

Now we’re running through the meadows away from those goons

Baby think it’s time we made our own damn noose

 

And now we’re oh oh cutting down the railroad

Fire burning with the flames I cried

And when we get tooo the south of the border

We’re gonna run rum till we get a little older

We’re gonna run rum till I get a little older with my guy

 

Now it’s just me and him and we’re half way down Jack

When a silly bartender makes a run for the stack

He says “Once you get to the sea you hear the waves crash”

So here we are at the gallows  and we can’t go back

 

So honey please tell me, pretty thing like you

How did a known good girl suddenly fly the coop?

Did he threaten you baby girl, hold you prisoner tied

No I say, I’m just…. in love toniiiiiiiiiigght

 

I’m just a rum runnner

Rum runner

Rum runner

A rum runner till the day I die

A rum runner

Just a rum runner

Rum runner till I get a little older

A rum runner…till the day I

dieeeeeeeee

 

Next thing I know bullets hailing all around

Horses running past and we move with the sounds

And now we’re oh oh cutting down the railroad

Fire burning with the flames I cried

And when we get tooo the south of the border

We’re gonna run rum till we get a little older

We’re gonna run rum till I get a little older with my guy

 

And now there’s nothing you can do cuz I’m stuck like gluuuuue

To my guy

No nothing you can say can tear me awaaayyy….from my guy

Leave a Reply

