Ms. Gunn

Ms. Gunn


Believe it or not I dreamed this…crazy, I know but if you were in my head you’d know I dream every night, multiple times each night and apparently that’s not normal, so people tell me, but hey…if this is what comes from dreaming…then so be it.

 

He’s not a man of distinction

He’s got no political reprieve

He’s been kept inside convention

And his wild wants liberty

So I’ll tell you this old tale of a man who tried to follow

Gracie Gun is the woman who’s brought him to the gallows

 

As the jury all agree I’m a man who was led wrongly

They’ve heard the tales of Gracie Gunn and I’ve got victim written on me

 

Well I thought she was an angel

It sees her halo was a scar

From the man she used to love

The same man who killed that cop

Said she’s bound and determined he’s not gonna get away

And I’m chased by her demons on 3:10 to Yuma’s train

 

She convenes with the rattler

She attests to the native case

And I swear, in my opinion

From her the lord won’t turn his face

You see when I first saw her I had a noose with my name on it

And in my full disclosure, she was two words from dangling on it

 

The master and his maker come to insight to hear their sonnets

That’s when the bullet cracked the rope and she crowed, “Come with me my darling!”

 

Well I thought she was an angel

It seems her halo was a scar

From the man she used to love

The same man who killed that cop

Said She’s bound and determined he’s not gonna get away

So I’m chased by her demons on 3:10 to Yuma’s train

 

We rode away into the night

Creatures howled to her delight

Before the morning sun’s up

We’ll be halfway off the cusp

When we get to the battle

Make the name on which we stand

See there’s a big ol’ gangster

She’ll turn into a broken man

 

Now I have to admit

Not every day I spent’s been bad

That Gracie Gunn, she’s given me

What most men they can’t have

I was saved from a life of benign adventury

So go ahead and hang me, I’ll still love the enemy

 

You see I thought she was an angel

It seems her halo was a scar

From the man she used to love

The same man who killed that cop

Now she’s bound and determined he’s not gonna get away

So I’m chased with her demons on 3:10 to Yuma’s train

 

Leave a Reply

