Fairytale

Fairytale


Sometimes it gets so gray these fairytales we hear

All the fables I’ve been raised on seem to disappear

I’m not one for wishing when the granting can’t be done

But I make more wishes than there’ve been rising suns

 

I’ve seen all my friends grow up and fall in love

Some of them end up tricked and most are trampled on

Then there’s that one girl with the love we never saw

That’s when I start to think maybe I can beat the odds

 

Give me time

I’ve got so much angst that I feel inside

How to be loved and not grow tired of the wading through all of the liars

See it through

Lord, knows there’s only been one of you

Who’s gonna see me the way I can’t be seen

It’s like reading lines that are twisted mean

 

I’m a black and white wall, yes, that’s this kind of girl

I’m waiting for my knight to come but I won’t wait too long

I’ve got better things to do than wish away my years

The biggest conquest you will have is vanquishing my fears

 

I’ve known you for a bit but how long is long enough?

You seem like you could be promising all the love I want

But then the old fairytale comes out from dusty books

Then the pages snap with anger and taunt with dirty looks

 

Give me time

I’ve got so much angst that I feel inside

How to be loved and not grow tired of the wading through all of the liars

See it through

Lord, knows there’s only been one of you

Who’s gonna see me the way I can’t be seen

It’s like reading lines that are twisted mean

 

I don’t envy you the work that’s been laid for you in me

I wish I could give me heart that’s filled with gentle ease

But I’ve seen every storybook gets rattier with age

That’s why I don’t believe you when you say….

You and I will never fade, oh no no

 

Give me time…

I’ve got so much angst that I feel inside….

See it through…

Lord, knows there’s only been one of you

Who’s ever seen me the way I can’t be seen

It’s like reading lines that are twisted mean

You gave me time

I can’t promise what it’s gonna be like

There’s gonna be love, we’re not gonna get tired

Of waiting for years to go by

Give me ti-ime

See it through-oo-oo-ooo

 

Leave a Reply

