Cop Out

Cop Out


I’ve made it along this fa-ar

I’ve used the two step method and coaxed trouble from a man

No I’ve never been afraid of the straight flush held in those hands

I’ve gotten older once or twice

It only makes things harder to use that device

So when you go, I know

I can’t stay no longer, no

 

When I think it’s all the truth

Or at least a thoughtful tune

That’s when I try to make sense of the rhyme

So what are you gonna do?

When I finally see the ruse

When I find out

It’s a cop out!

Oh oh oh oh

Oh oh oh oh oh

 

I’m not drunk of insecure

Still when I find you at my door my fears drown and I find

I’m thinking maybe your cries are the ones leaving me blind

“So come here darling”

That’s what you say to me honey

Oh sweetheart, I know

You can’t stay forever, no

 

When I think it’s all the truth

Or at least a thoughtful tune

That’s when I try to make sense of the rhyme

So what are you gonna do?

When I finally see the ruse

When I find out

It’s a cop out!

Oh oh oh oh

Oh oh oh oh oh

 

Everybody’s got their temptations

You’re my devil in disguise making me a ruination

I’m not a sweet angel no I’m not innocent enough

But lord I don’t deserve this treatment it’s so tough…

….to walk the line

It’s grinding me to a fine tender lime

The sweetness is gone but the memory remains

Of your foolish grin and your tempter hands

I’m not scared of what’s in store

I’m not ashamed to tell you…

That it’s all true

 

When I think it’s all the truth

Or at least a thoughtful tune

That’s when I try to make sense of the rhyme

So what are you gonna do?

When I finally see the ruse

When I find out

It’s a cop out!

Oh oh oh oh

Oh oh oh oh oh

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

