Strike Out

Strike Out


I’m going nowhere

Struck out in the ninth and

Going back to where we could have been

Ain’t gonna give it up for now

Better fight if you don’t know how

 

It’s been a long ride

Since then and I don’t know why

I’ve contemplated it a million times

How am I gonna get back there?

I’m starting to remember

Trying hard to remember

 

Don’t wanna go nowhere

I’m not going nowhere

 

Maybe it’s gone

Maybe I lost my chance but

I need to run back on home

Stand on the porch that I left

Now don’t you understand

I’m never leaving here again

 

Well I know you get louder

When you go and start to laugh

Tick tongue and teeth and you take it back

Oh those were the good times

Trip and fall over my own feet

Try to get you before this leaves

 

I’ve got a strong heart

Was temper that got involved

Bruises bleeding but I’m going strong

I never shoulda’ left you there

How’d you ever get along, my dear?

How could I have ever been too near?

 

I’m going nowhere

I’m going nowhere

 

Then I think

Maybe he’s gone

Maybe I lost my chance but

I need to run back on home

Stand on the porch that I left

Now don’t you understand

I’m never leaving here again

 

When I see your face

I’ll be back in love with that place

And I’ll never stray again

No I’ll never shoot

My way to the moon

Or get lost in the stars

 

And when I fall back down

On earth, what a clown

When you start to laugh

I come ba-a-a-ack…

 

Then I think

Maybe he’s gone

Maybe I lost my chance but

I need to run back on home

Stand on the porch that I left

Now don’t you understand

 

Sooner I will

Find myself back there and

When I step back

He’ll be right on the stairs

Maybe he’ll tell me all that I need and

Maybe he’ll let go all the things that I be and

Maybe

Oh maybe

Maybe he’s gone

Maybe I lost my chance but

I need to run back on home

Stand on the porch that I left

I’m telling you my friend

I’ll love you till I’m dead

Now don’t you understand

I’m never leaving you again

Leave a Reply

