Aces

Aces


You wrote that you love me

I ask which part exactly?

Is it the fact that I throw vases at you?

Or that I never let you play and keep your own tune?

 

How many times have you heard it?

So many I can’t count

When are you gonna get sick of me?

Just when I walk to the door and I feel the heat

 

There’s no more cards to play

I’ve got no more aces to put down

To myself I’ll admit you’re the softest melody I’ve ever found

And when my earthquakes wreck

Down the walls we built tonight

You will come to see that I’m not yet perfect in your eyes

 

I’ve got just a bit of a game

No it’s not about the blame

You see I’m tough but I’m not sweeter to you

I try to give back but what I give is crazy too

 

I know you signed up for less

So let’s make a bet

If I can’t get this right by twenty three

Will you promise to go…just Lea-ea-EAVE

 

There’s no more cards to play

I’ve got no more aces to put down

To myself I’ll admit you’re the softest melody I’ve ever found

And when my earthquakes wreck

Down the walls we built tonight

You will come to see that I’m not yet perfect in your eyes

 

I’ll keep trying

Even after you’ve gone

I’ll keep searching

But you’re the softest melody I’ve ever found

 

There’s no more cards to play

I’ve got no more aces to put down

To myself I’ll admit you’re the softest melody I’ve ever found

And when my earthquakes wreck

Down the walls we built tonight

You will come to see that I’m not yet perfect in your eyes

 

God I hope I’m perfect in your eyes

 

Leave a Reply

