The Chase (What I Propose)

The Chase (What I Propose)


Written for a friend who was proposing to his girl…There are some personal references in there that were special for them so everyone else may not get them but the feeling is there…enjoy

 

Life is only eighty years, So I’ve been told before

Our time on this earth is short and I’ll always want more

I’ve shorted out a time or two

I’ve drunk too much wine

But in my sordid state I’m sure I’ve got enough time

 

What are you gonna do with the time that you have left?

I’ve floated on the sea before but I’m far from adrift

Well, you tell me your secrets

And I’ll tell you mine

She lies in my heart and haunts my whole mind

 

And I swear to God

I’ll be there when I’m not

And in your arms I’ll stay with you,

Hold you till the morning’s blue

Somewhere down the road,

I’ll chase you till I’m cold

A stowaway mermaid stole my heart….

 

And I first saw her out on the ocean blue

And now my eyes they come to rest where my heart does too

She a dark hair beauty

A bold lark song

And I never want to leave her when the morning’s come

 

And I swear to God

I’ll be there when I’m not

And in your arms I’ll stay with you,

Hold you till the morning’s blue

Somewhere down the road,

I’ll chase you till I’m cold

A stowaway mermaid stole my heart….

 

Well my dear, oh my love, don’t keep track of the years

Doesn’t matter how long we have if we both face our fears…

Well I’ve never loved a mermaid, nor a lady of the sea

But I hope I can take you, for yours I will be

 

And I swear to God

I’ll be there when I’m not

And in your arms I’ll stay with you,

Hold you till the morning’s blue

Somewhere down the road,

I’ll chase you till I’m cold

A stowaway mermaid stole my heart….

 

But that’s okay

I really don’t mind

She can have it for all of time…

Leave a Reply

