Far From Fine

Far From Fine


The sea of our lives has changed for the worst

This stray dog is running looking for its curse

The moon keeps waning and I am left to blame

Move my feet through the day not knowing my name

Should have said something the first time I caught your smile

Could have had some more time in your arms in your eyes

 

Got caught at the border….now I’m headed for the block

 

Ooooh, I’m sipping a memory in the bottle by the sink

There’s five more in my head tempting me to drink

Is that my heart that cracked on the floor?

Is that you coming back through our door?

A match between my fingers could burn it all down

Just a simple stroke, don’t make a sound

Have you heard I’m doing alright?

Truth, that’s a lie and I’m far from fine

 

Each and every night I leave the covers turned down

I’ve tried to stand alone just to sink in the sound

Ask an old friend sometime down the road

I hope you will hate how time can make us grow

You might stand in he room, fingers on your sleeve

“I’m sorry Miss, he’s not been around for weeks”

 

Now I’ve fallen in the company of the ne’er do wells

 

Ooooh, I’m draining a memory in the bottle by the sink

There’s five more in my head teaching me to drink

Is that my heart that cracked on the floor?

Is that you coming back through our door?

A match between my fingers could burn it all down

Just a simple stroke, don’t make a sound

Have you heard I’m doing alright?

Truth, that’s a lie and I’m far from fine

 

It was me who left I’m starting to understand

But the longer I sing the slower time stands

Put on your rings, slide on your gold

Slip on that dress you’ve worn a time before

Pack up your suitcase don’t forget to place your bets

On how well a man can be lying in your debt

And oh, my how hard you are to believe

Give me something, I can’t breathe

 

Ooooh, I’m drowning a memory in the bottle by the sink

There’s five more in my head forcing me to drink

Is that my heart that cracked on the floor?

Is that you coming back through our door?

A match between my fingers could burn it all down

Just a simple stroke, don’t make a sound

Have you heard I’m doing alright?

Truth, that’s a lie and I’m far from fine

 

Now if you come back in the day or late at night

You might see some things you’re not gonna like…..

 

Oooh, I’ve starving a memory with the bottle by the sink

There’s five more in my head I can’t stand to drink

Is that my heart that cracked on the floor?

Is that you coming back through our door?

A match between my fingers could burn it all down

Just a simple stroke, don’t make a sound

Have you heard I’m doing alright?

Truth, that’s a lie

 

And I’m far from fine

Leave a Reply

