Tempestuous

Tempestuous


You’re like the sound of the sea

Your calm and cruel but more a fool

You’ll rage and hate and tear the fate away from the sailor

Then calm that tortured tongue of yours to sing them sweet lullaby

Count the deaths of those that dare to tread your high waters

Ride the gale and search the sky

 

She’s a wander down an unknown path

A gruesome heart that lingers

It’s a good thing that you made it last

Or else you’d burn my fingers

 

She’s a tempting wind

A cold heart of revenge

A sweet northern moon

That blue eyed beauty

She’ll tear out your heart and close it with whispers

Leave you lying alone

That mermaid of my island home

 

She’s just a wave crashing down

On bitter, hopeful, minds so full

“Oh, man of mine, something so fine to live a life all asea

Won’t you put down that armor and come wash away with me,

Oh she just might spare your life and give you direction”

When he leaves you’ll hear me cry

 

I’ll wander down that unknown path

His gruesome touch will linger

It’s a good thing he made me laugh

Or else I’d burn his fingers

 

She’s a tempting wind

A cold heart of revenge

A sweet northern moon

That blue eyed beauty

She’ll tear out your heart and close it with whispers

Leave you lying alone

That mermaid of my island home

 

And when he’s gone

I’ll lose my feet

Back to the rocky shore and the endless deep

Slip beneath the sea…oh I will leave

Oh…and they will whisper slow….

 

She’s a tempting wind

That cold heart of revenge

A sweet northern moon

That blue eyed beauty

She’ll tear out your heart and close it with whispers

Leave you lying alone….

 

This mermaid can sing

Sing like ne’er before

Cuz he’s the man who’s conquered me and cursed all lives ashore

And in the darkening of the moon they’ll speak of sweet revenge

How I tore out their hearts and made mice out of their men

And I might have done those things

But an ocean heart cannot just be gloom

So I sing this parting bit so that you may know the truth

 

Yes, I’m a tempting wind

A cold heart but endless mends

A sweet northern moon

A Brown eyed beauty

You’ll tear out your heart and I’ll close it with whispers

Leave you lying alone?

No…

I’ll sing this song

For humans of my island home

One thought on “Tempestuous

Leave a Reply

