Whiskey Never Treated Me Like You

Whiskey Never Treated Me Like You


1: Whiskey never treated me like you

Robs me of my clarity so you can water down the truth

But it’s one more glass and I’m too far gone

Let’s roll you up in the dawn

 

2: Just once more never hurt anyone

Isn’t that the truth? Darling aren’t we done?

I’ve been a fool

But whiskey never showed me you

 

I should be long gone

You shouldn’t be here

But it’s just another dance

One last chance to let you go

Before you take me home

 

1: There must be something better than this

Yeah it’s cruel, sweet, tenderness you give from your lips

I got no more time to waste

Yeah, I’ve got someone waiting up at my place

 

2: The power you got over me

Tangles me up in these ruining sheets

I’d change you and I if it could be done

This is no good but lord, it’s been fun

 

I should be long gone

You shouldn’t be here

But it’s just another dance

One last chance to let you go

Before you take me home

 

1: She’s the sweetest everything that I have ever known

And her lips well they’ve not tasted sin on the go

2: I met a man up in Gander Falls

He’s not like you, yeah, he’s got it all

 

And it’s one more glance and I’m too far gone

Your soft eyes roll up the dawn

 

I should be long gone

You shouldn’t be here

But it’s just another dance

One last chance to let you go

Before you take me home

Leave a Reply

