Dear Fisherman

Dear Fisherman


I am a stranger to this far off rock

You might puncture me but I won’t be shocked

Each step I take, the ghost in my ear

Te-ells me ‘This is not where you should be my dear

A-and you’ll regret the day you set your feet

On the rocky shore where hopes met defeat….’

 

Well dear mighty fisherman you bring me hope

From the years you spent looking for diamonds that float

Pulling up your nets and searching the sky

Thanking the sun for shining high

Say a small prayer but not for gold

Only the day be blessed and the gales will hold

 

This vast land is a ghost calling me

It’s been in my head for years like a lost memory

The folk back there all think it so strange

Why should I come here, if just for the rain?

If you ask I’ll say with a secret smile

This is my home, my love, each ever mile

 

Well dear mighty fisherman you bring me hope

From the years you spent looking for diamonds that float

Pulling up your nets and searching the sky

Thanking the sun for shining high

Say a small prayer but not for gold

Only the day be blessed and the gales will hold

 

I’ll walk against the pebbled beach

Watch the waves come, the storms preach

How this place it can be so cruel

Bu-ut Newfoundland is full of fine, fine fools

It is time to make the best of this

Here is my place where I stand to wish

You can call me such a foolish girl

But you don’t know how it’s so beautiful…

 

Well dear mighty fisherman you bring me hope

From the years you spent looking for diamonds that float

Pulling up your nets and searching the sky

Thanking the sun for shining high

Say a small prayer but not for gold

Only the day be blessed and the gales will hold

 

Well dear mighty fisherman hope sings in my ear

Someday soon your nets will bring me near

Someday soon your nets will brink me near

Leave a Reply

