Charlie’s Town

Charlie’s Town


Are you Jones-ing  today?

Have you got your fix yet?

I need a seabreeze for the melody that I can’t quit

There’s a little place

That when I go I go down

Keep this a secret, it’s in Charlie’s town

 

What else do you need?

We got boys and we got fire

Let’s take off in our cars and dance around the wire

Oh he’s got brown eyes

Is it okay to be a fool?

Honey take me back to Charlie soon

 

Baby, baby, meet me at the dock

Honey darling let’s dance away into the dark

When the clock strikes nine I’m going to ground

Can’t be late for that beating sound

Meet me back in Charlie’s town

 

We went up north to the Ozarks

Where the banjo plays around

They played us raw but we put them down

Oh, Yankee girl

Are you here to get around?

Baby, I do that in Charlie’s town

 

Baby, baby, meet me at the dock

Honey darling let’s dance away into the dark

When the clock strikes nine I’m going to ground

Can’t be late for that beating sound

Meet me back in Charlie’s town

 

Now I love these southern towns

They’re quaint and true

I love the moonshine and the laughter and I might love you

To some I’ll be just an outsider

Honey that’s all right

Just take me home to Charles tonight

 

Baby, baby, meet me at the dock

Honey darling let’s dance away into the dark

When the clock strikes nine I’m going to ground

Can’t be late for that beating sound

Meet me back in Charlie’s town

Leave a Reply

