Only For So Long (His Greatest Wish)

Only For So Long (His Greatest Wish)


Life can get tired, stuck in thick wine

That’s when we try making up our minds

But when do we realize we should’ve backed up while we could?

 

Someday soon

I will cross the sea over to you

Don’t you

Worry dear

The ocean blue will see me here

For tonight

I will stay until the light

But in the dawn

I’ll fade off with the dew

There’ll be nothing you can do

 

Love’s like a package, plain and in sight

With roughened up edges and lovely laugh lines

And some don’t even know the forty-nine cent postage stamp between that and that ugly ‘forever’ square…

 

And I’ve got a promise you might not receive

I reciprocate feelings only after I’m mean

For that we could have had what I won’t let go ahead

 

But someday soon

I will cross the sea over to you

Don’t you

Worry dear

The ocean blue will see me here

But for tonight

I will stay until the light

But in the dawn

I’ll fade off with the dew

There’ll be nothing you can do

 

There’ll be nothing you can do

There’ll be nothing you can do

 

Leave a Reply

