Small Towns

Small Towns


He finally took a break

Got away from this troubled town

He didn’t have to go too far

That’s how life can be when you’ve got dirt roads to go down

 

Everyone thinks that small towns are gold and grand and true

Nobody knows how much we can hide when we want to

 

Run away with me

Down the old forest streets

Run away in my arms

Leave the bottle and the pipes on the ground

We don’t need to alter any state of mind

We just need to find out, find a livin’ that’s kind

Until we get there hold my hand

I won’t break or bend

No I won’t break of bend

 

She finally gave herself some time

Put him behind her and made a plan

You’ll never know how close she was

To giving it away, letting it drown with a bottle in her hand

 

Everyone says small towns are gold and grand and true

Nobody knows how much we can hide when we want to

 

Run away with me

Down the old forest streets

Run away in my arms

Leave the bottle and the  pipes on the ground

We don’t need to alter any state of mind

We just need to find out, find a livin’ that’s kind

Until we get there, hold my hand

I won’t break or bend

No I won’t break or bend

 

He ran away like he should

He finally left the kind of friends

Who kindly would’ve drank with him till the end

She got herself a better life

She still don’t have much but

She won’t ever live again with the crutch

 

They all told them small towns are gold and grand and true

Nobody ever knows how much we can hide until we do

 

So run away with me

Down the old forest streets

Run away in my arms

Leave the bottle and the pipes on the ground

We don’t need to alter any state of mind

We just need to find out, find a livin’ that’s kind

Until we get there, hold my hand

I won’t break or bend

No I won’t break or bend

 

Those small towns are gold, grand and true

Nobody knows how much we hide until we do

Leave a Reply

