I Make My Own

I Make My Own


You’ve thrown my way every little thing

How can it be your family that causes you pain?

Momma didn’t want me to ever know

I’ve always seen what I’ve seen since I was a little girl

Now it’s changing

How I feel

Now I don’t love you

That’s how I feel

 

So I make my own love

I’ll find my own kind

I’ll tie myself to those who love me undefined

The say that blood is thickest not like water

But I’ll make my own love

How about that father?

Yeah these are my people

These are my family, those that surround me

I make my own life with those that dare

To love me right

I make my own love

 

I remember growing up alright

Nothing wrong with independence or a little strife

I never could figure it out

Why I feel so sure about how I feel but there’s no doubt

That I don’t care

But you do now

It’s too late for talking

Your way out

 

So I make my own love

I’ll find my own kind

I’ll tie myself to those who love me undefined

They say that blood is thickest, not like water

But I make my own love

How about that father?

Yeah these are my people

These are my family, those that surround me

I make my own life with those that dare

To love me right

I make my own love

 

You shouldn’t give and call it kindness when you keep a tally in your head

That’s how the innocents turn into thieves and wind up dead

It’s a good thing I never tried to understand

Cuz I make my own love and now I’m happier in the end

I roamed the world to the Orient and down the unknown track

I found my family and I’m so in love with that

 

I make my own love

I found my own kind

I tied myself to those that love me undefined

Yeah these are my people

These are my family, those that surround me

I make my own life with those that dare

To love me right

I make my own love

 

Leave a Reply

