Higher

Higher


I know we been around in circles lately

I know we’ve spun a tale or two

You’re trying hard to keep up the charade

I’m trying not to break for your sake too

I won’t tell if you swear that you won’t bend

Gotta admit I’m a bit happy this way

How is that? I don’t know but I could spend

Forever living this way

You’re the magnet switch to my light bulb

I’m starting not to care if that shows

I know we got a lot on the line but

I can’t help when I’m so bold

You’re skin is starting to itch now

Trepidation coming in

I’ve got a trick I can show you

When you don’t feel your skin can keep you in

This is what you got to do

 

And I’ll show you if you swear to keep it safe

I don’t know another way oh oh

When the storms come in to terrorize me

I don’t ever turn away oh oh oh

I just fly-y up into the sky

I find a high-igh tower-er-er

I don’t run away to keep my head sane

I just go-o high-er-er

I just go-o high-er-er

 

It’s funny how we got here, well ain’t it?

I gotta say I hope there’s no end

I know we got some things we ain’t saying

But honey this is all pretend

But I wanna hold you close so you don’t fall

You’re looking like you’ll start to break

Take it from a natural born swindler

It’s not the lie that’s hard to fake

It’s the way we look at each other

When the other’s eyes just look away

It how we take care to watch the other’s back

Even when you’re not in front of me

Hush darling, just close your eyes now

I’ll take us to a tower tall

We can stand on the edge of the railing

Safe while the height takes it all

Cuz when you don’t think your skin can keep you in

There’s a place that you can go-o

 

Oh and I’ll show you if you swear to keep it safe

I don’t know another way oh oh

When the storms come in to terrorize me

I never run away oh oh oh

I just fly-y up into the sky

I find a high-igh tower-er

I don’t run away to keep my head sane

I just go-o higher-er-er

I just go-o higher-er-er

 

Cuz I won’t tell if you swear to keep it safe

We’re in this together cuz there ain’t another way

I never stayed this low for so long

Surrounded by the beasts and the beating of my heart

I know it could go as quickly as it starts

But I gotta stay to help you out

Funny thing is I don’t mind the lie

I never been so tied to anyone

Not in my whole life

The tower height takes away my fear but it

Still leaves my heart in me cuz it

It can’t stop the beating

It can’t stop the way I wanna shout

It can’t stop the beating

 

But I won’t tell if you swear to keep it safe

I don’t know another way oh oh

When the storms come in to terrorize me

I don’t ever run away oh oh oh

I just fly-y up into the sky

I find a high-igh tower-er

I don’t run away to keep my head sane

I just go-o higher-er

I just go-o higher-er

 

 

Leave a Reply

