Nathan (The Duet)

Nathan (The Duet)


Sometimes these songs I write mostly on my arm need revisions….I happen to like this one a bit better as a duet. So like normal I’ll number the parts…enjoy dear readers!

 

1: He’s not proud, no not a bit

He’s harmless, sweet, a bit a kid

“Hey there, friend, can you give me a hand?”, they say over and over again

They still don’t know his name in the end

 

2: She’s just working, smiles like heaven

You can sink in her eyes, dark and driven

Don’t care if I’ve got no chance, can you live dreams at a safe distance?

She says, “hey Nathan, how’s it been?”

 

1&2: Hi boy, can’t you tell?

Yeah I’ve got plans and you know well

Oh Nathan dear, what have you here?

Hey boy, can you get it together?

I can’t seem to make myself get over

I guess the things we dream aren’t what we mean

 

2: Can you imagine how it seems?

I’ve heard them whisper to you ’bout me

Don’t have a job, don’t plan to soon, life’s been hard so I play fools

One drink, play, jinks, now play me too

 

1: The leaves start falling and there I go

Loser, Darling, it started slow

If this were different not indifference, if we could see past pretenses

If we knew each other without defenses

Oh Nathan, see, how good it’d be

 

1&2: Hey boy, can’t you tell?

I’ve got plans and you know well

Oh Nathan dear, what have you here?

Well hey boy, can you get it together?

I can’t seem to make myself get over

I guess the things we dream aren’t what we mean

 

1: I can’t break this

2: It’s not what it seems

1: This childish teasing has turned on me

2: You see, I see, either way you see me

1: I can’t pull my pieces together

2&1: I have fallen under your weather

 

Hi boy, can’t you tell?

I’ve got plans and you know well

 

Hi boy, can’t you tell?

I’ve got plans and you know well

Oh Nathan dear what have you here?

Well hey boy, can you get it together?

I can’t seem to make myself get over

Nathan see, how good it’d be

 

Hey boy, can we get it together

Hey boy, can we get it together

Oh Nathan dear

Oh Darling dear

Oh Nathan, see, how good it’d be

Leave a Reply

