Heart’s Side

Heart’s Side


When you walk you walk kind of lopsided
Can your feet be steady when you’re not following a straight line?
When you talk you talk from your heart strings
I can feel your hands making me starve just to hear you say good things

How can this be that I miss everything about this place?
I never let my heart wanna remain because I’ve been scared by the rat race
Now when I sleep I sleep to dream of that last spring by the seaside
I can try to talk but I’m not talking myself out of anything tonight

I love you but I can’t stay
Even if I stay I will sleep on your shoulder
I love you but I can’t leave
Even if I leave I will live on your shoulder
We love who we love no matter the consequences
So stay on my heart’s side
I’ll stay on your heart’s side

I waited longer than I ever thought I would wait for anything
It feels like years have passed me by and I am older than Saturn’s rings
Though I can’t see you, when I close my eyes I see your hands covering me
I feel your fingers in mine and I can taste the way I remember you laughing

How can I let myself fall in love with a phantom?
You used to feel so real but now the distance has me flighty and my heart is racing

I love you but I can’t stay
Even if I stay I will sleep on your shoulder
I love you but I can’t leave
Even if I leave I will live on your shoulder
We love who we love no matter the consequences
So stay on my heart’s side
I’ll stay on your heart’s side

If I stay on your heart side?
Will you stay on my shoulder?
Will you be here for my whole life?
Even as the years grow older?

I love you but can I stay?
Even if I can’t stay I will sleep on your shoulder
I love you but I can’t leave
Even if I leave I will live on your shoulder
We love who we love no matter the consequences
So I’ll stay on your heart’s side
So stay on my heart’s side

Leave a Reply

