The King and The Fool

The King and The Fool


You left the door wide awake when you left
Your voice on the machine like the last of winter’s breath
I can make all the excuses and you can talk the best of lines
But I think it’s time to close the curtain, repaint the walls and cut the ties

It’s time now so call the crowd
You wanted crazy, I’ll show you how

We always went around like vultures do
Can’t peg us down we gotta skirt the issues
I loved you and you loved me or maybe we just faked it all
It’s close, the fall, it’s certain now, make up your mind just do it now

I won’t hold you down any longer
You’re the Hero, the world’s new fodder
You fought the sea and passed the brink
So go and drink your way to glory
Prove those fables are not just stories
You’re the King and I’m the Fool
Take your aim and bask in you
Just remember to forget me when you do

You call me baby only when you need something
It’s not my kisses you miss it’s the chance to make me your queen
Cuz when it’s down you pick it up, be the man, talk like you’re tough
When it’s good we turn to rust, bring up the past cuz love just ain’t enough

It’s time now so go get the crowd
You want crazy, well watch me now

I won’t hold you down any longer
You’re the Hero, the world’s new fodder
You fought the sea and passed the brink
So go and drink your way to glory
Prove those fables are not just stories
You’re the King and I’m the Fool
Take your aim and make your move
Just remember to forget me when you do

It’s time now baby
I’ll call the crowd and I’ll go crazy
You wanted this so watch me now
I won’t make it long, I won’t draw it out

I won’t hold you down any longer
You’re the Hero, the World’s new fodder
You fought the sea and passed the brink
So go and drink your way to glory
Prove those fables are not just stories
You’re the King and I’m the Fool
Take your aim and make your move
Just remember to forget me when you do

Leave a Reply

