Let Us Be

Let Us Be


I’m running ragged
How are you holding up?
These games we’re s’posed to play have me weathered to rust
Oh we’re fed these things from movie scenes and fabled books
If it’s got no spark
It don’t deserve another look
This is so much harder than it needs to be
So why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me

I could be a temptress
Be all legs and black high heels
Let’s start a wager cuz hell, it ain’t that big of a deal
If I must pretend that this ain’t love then yeah it’s true
You’ll be kind of into me
I’ll be sort of into you
Lord, we make this harder than it needs to be
So why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me

Pretend your cool
Let the small talk ring
Let’s cast a bunch of glances and act like we’re queen and king
I dare to be the smile that brings them all to their knees
When I’m naughty
That’s when you’re sweet
We make this so much harder than it needs to be
So why don’t you be you

Cuz there’ll be a moment
It might be soon
The chips will settle down and I’ll wanna whisper the truth
Why don’t I be myself and let the real you come around?
I wish you’d blow the horn
I’d love to be the sound
We make this harder than it needs to be
So why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me
We make this so much harder than it needs to be
So why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me

Leave a Reply

